From Dot Matrix to Wireless Ink Jet

Published March 6, 2012 by rochellewisoff

In the early 1980’s my husband decided we needed a computer. His face glowing with excitement, he tore open the box that contained our brand new Radio Shack TRS 80. Trash 80.
“You spent how much?”
Another big boy toy. Just what we needed. And it didn’t stop there. The next wave was the Commodore 64 complete with dot matrix printer and Koala pad. Or does anyone remember the Kaypro, or as I call it, the Commodore in a can.
By the end of the decade I wrote poetry and inherited my own computer, a used Leading Edge with a 5″ floppy drive. I found typing cathartic and Word Perfect with its built in thesaurus became my best friend.
At my brother’s urging we joined AOL so we could keep in touch online. Soon I joined the ranks of internet junkies. Ten years later we went from dial-up to broadband.
Just like our cars, Jan and I own separate computers. Oh, but not just desktops. He has a laptop for his music and another just because.
But who am I to criticize? In addition to my new HP Touchsmart I still retain my last desktop in another corner of my office. There are just certain things that wouldn’t transfer to the new one. And let us not forget my pink netbook. So portable. Great for taking to conferences or on trips to see my gorgeous grandbaby.
And floppy disks? Forget about it. I have four flash drives and an external hard drive so nothing’s lost. Well, nothing except, maybe, those 400 plus poems I saved on 5″ floppies.

Input! I love input!

Honie Briggs



Writing About Whatever Comes to Mind, Whenever it Comes to Mind...

Flights of Fancy

The Totally Unambitious Blog

The Off Key Of Life

Or….Identifying The Harmless Unhinged Among Us.

What's So Funny?

A humor blog

The Write Melony

Renowned Writer Extraordinaire - in my mind!

unbuttoned or undone

Hang on, Hang on

A Delectable Life

The little and large things making my life delicious!

Hoxton Spanish Tutor Info

This site is the cat’s pajamas

Sound Bite Fiction

where nothing is quite what it seems


Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure


a libretto for the comic opera of my life


Writing about writing

What's for dinner, Doc?

Exploring Human Connections, Health and Wellness

Claire Fuller

Writing and art

Green Writing Room

Hilary Custance Green's reading and writing notepad

Oldentimes's Blog

a little old, a little new, life in the slow land of country living

Caely in the making

- one day, they'll say "because of you, I didn't give up" -


A great site

Being MG

Flash fiction, poetry and other written works that make me who I am.


A.K.A. Ted White

Musings of a Random Mind

Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

draliman on life

Because sometimes life just makes you stop and think


Looking at Infinity


adventures in defensive gardening

fabricating fiction

Louise Jensen - Writer -

Momus News

Humorous News, Photos, and Short Fiction

next page new chapter

Life, Motherhood, Beauty, Books

