Published August 3, 2012 by rochellewisoff

This week’s Friday Fictioneers’ photo prompt has been something of a challenge. While it might conjure up visions of creepy aliens. it’s a picture of a cut grape vine. I neither wrote about grape vines nor aliens. Just under 100 words this week with 99.

Half naked Himba people in Nambia, a sweaty camera crew and millions of TV viewers witnessed our marriage vows.

I willingly followed Trevor up the Himalayas, drank sun-scorched canteen water instead of Cabernet and swatted mosquitos in the Amazon.

In Nepal he slipped on something and narrowly escaped being trampled by a choleric elephant.

“I’m done,” he whispered later. “Let’s go home.”

“You are my home.”

Back in the states, safe from cheetah attacks and hippo stampedes, Trevor’s mangled body lies on a cold steel table. The driver, texting on her cell phone, never saw him cross the street.

36 comments on “WILD LIFE

  • Dear Rochelle,The line that said it all for me was, "You are my home." I sense a lot of you in that sentence. You show us the majesty of a life well lived and the tragedy of love lost to chance and circumstance. The world is a dangerous place and I'd take my chances in many a lonely and isolated spot before living long in a city. (I'm glad to see you this week and happy to have crossed the line first for once:)Aloha,Doug


  • Texting and driving is always a bad combo. I won't even talk on my phone while driving, or talk to anyone who is talking on their phone while driving. Glad he at least got to experience some good times before he was taken out by the carelessness of another.


  • Rochelle, Very powerful. It reminds me of a true story an old WWII veteran told me about a soldier who fought weeks on Iwo Jima without a scratch, only to step off a curb and be killed by a truck a week after returning home. We just never know when our number is going to come up.Thanks for visiting & commenting on minehttp://russellgayer.blogspot.com/


  • A heart-breaking story and a bit of a lesson too, I think. You show a great deal of the characters of the couple in this piece. I would have liked a little extra clue about the order in which the events took place – maybe you could have used your 1 extra word to start the second paragraph with "Afterwards," The punch at the end certainly leaves us reeling, as I'm sure it left the narrator.I'm over here: http://elmowrites.wordpress.com/2012/08/03/friday-fiction-torment/


  • That's terrible! Hoping its not based on a true story :(After all the like threatening awesome adventures, only to be put down by an inattentive driver on a cell phone. Thanks for sharing this story Rochelle. We should be so much more responsible behind the wheels.


  • I was relieved to read you've been married for 40 years and that this was not based on your life's story. Great contrast between the exoticism of the adventurer's life and his mundane death.


  • Hi Rochelle: Happy to see you veered away from the creepy side. I agree with everyone about your beautiful, heartwarming "You are my home" line. Sad ending. Reminds me of this soldier who returned home after 4 yrs in Aghan… without a scratch, only to be killed in a Bronx street "gang" crossfire. Nice work as usual, Rocky.


  • Enjoying your blog-I see you read mine as well. I'm not sure how I "follow" it on blogspot, but I would like to-and hope you will follow me as well. Is there an easy way to do that? I see we both do Friday Fictioneers, s we are linked by that.


  • Unfortunately there are too many stories like that, Lora. My husband's cousin was only home from Viet Nam a few weeks in 1969 before he was killed in a car accident. I also thought of Steve Irwin. Who'd have thought he'd die by a stingray? Life is full of ironies, isn't it?


  • Input! I love input!

        Honie Briggs



    Writing About Whatever Comes to Mind, Whenever it Comes to Mind...

    Flights of Fancy

    The Totally Unambitious Blog

    The Off Key Of Life

    Or….Identifying The Harmless Unhinged Among Us.

    What's So Funny?

    A WordPress.com humor blog

    The Write Melony

    Renowned Writer Extraordinaire - in my mind!

    unbuttoned or undone

    Hang on, Hang on

    A Delectable Life

    The little and large things making my life delicious!

    Hoxton Spanish Tutor Info

    This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

    Sound Bite Fiction

    where nothing is quite what it seems


    Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure


    a libretto for the comic opera of my life


    Writing about writing

    What's for dinner, Doc?

    Exploring Human Connections, Health and Wellness

    Claire Fuller

    Writing and art

    Green Writing Room

    Hilary Custance Green's reading and writing notepad

    Oldentimes's Blog

    a little old, a little new, life in the slow land of country living

    Caely in the making

    - one day, they'll say "because of you, I didn't give up" -


    A great WordPress.com site

    Being MG

    Flash fiction, poetry and other written works that make me who I am.


    A.K.A. Ted White

    Musings of a Random Mind

    Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

    draliman on life

    Because sometimes life just makes you stop and think


    Looking at Infinity


    adventures in defensive gardening

    fabricating fiction

    Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

    Momus News

    Humorous News, Photos, and Short Fiction

    next page new chapter

    Life, Motherhood, Beauty, Books

