World Travelers: Friday Fictioneers

Published July 18, 2014 by rochellewisoff

Every week at least one hundred global writers shorten the distance by sharing  their flash fictions based on a single photo prompt. I have the honor and privilege of  hosting the Friday Fictioneers challenge created by Madison Woods three years ago. I’ll probably never meet each one face to face, although I’ve been able to meet up with a few.

This past week, Friday Fictioneers Bill and Janet Webb had lunch Sandra Crook and her husband Neville on their boat in France.

The Crooks and the Webbs

From left to right: Neville and Sandra Crook, Janet and Bill Webb (who resembles neither zombie nor zed).

Also among our world travelers is Dawn Landau who lives in Washington state met with fellow fictioneer Björn Rudberg for lunch in Stockholm.

Dawn and Björn

I love putting more than faces to names, don’t you?

38 comments on “World Travelers: Friday Fictioneers

  • So cool, Rochelle. I read Bjorn’s poetry pretty regularly, and it’s good to see him in person & looking so happy (as you know, his works can sometimes be bleak, though beautiful and well written). I don’t think I know the other folks, but it’s awesome they had a get-together. Thanks for sharing this.


  • What fun to be able to meet! I don’t think any other FF live in Tenerife, so my connections will remain virtual. Bjorn’s poetry is lovely and he and Sandra comment regularly on my stories.


  • This is absolutely wonderful! Rochelle I hope and pray that you are doing well. Will be getting back into the writing groove here soon!


  • I’ve loved meeting the Fictioneers I’ve had the good fortune to meet, hate the near-misses with those I almost got to meet, lol, and look forward to posts like these where I can see others getting to meet🙂


    • Dear Rochelle and Madison. This is so cool getting to meet each other – and Madison, thanks for starting the Fictioneers! I’m new so you probably don’t know me, but I like the pictures you submitted and Rochelle and done a wonderful job with this group. This is more fun than a barrel of monkeys (although my son who has been to India said that monkeys are little monsters spitting at you.) Thank you Rochelle, and some day when I grow up, I would like to meet you all (I’m 64). Nan 🙂


        • Dear Madison and Nan,

          My main motive was not to let Friday Fictioneers die. In a few months it had become one o the most important things in my life, not just because of the writing, but because of the friends I’d made. I never dreamed it would become what it has.

          We will meet, Nan. There are now four of us in the KC area so I think, when you’re up to it, we’ll make time.

          Always grateful to you Madison.




  • This is wonderful, Rochelle! Thanks for carrying on the work and helping keep all of us connected. I look forward to hearing of more connections across the miles and perhaps even making some of my own one day.

    Marie Gail


  • Input! I love input!

        Honie Briggs



    Writing About Whatever Comes to Mind, Whenever it Comes to Mind...

    Flights of Fancy

    The Totally Unambitious Blog

    The Off Key Of Life

    Or….Identifying The Harmless Unhinged Among Us.

    What's So Funny?

    A humor blog

    The Write Melony

    Renowned Writer Extraordinaire - in my mind!

    unbuttoned or undone

    Hang on, Hang on

    A Delectable Life

    The little and large things making my life delicious!

    Hoxton Spanish Tutor Info

    This site is the cat’s pajamas

    Sound Bite Fiction

    where nothing is quite what it seems


    Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure


    a libretto for the comic opera of my life


    Writing about writing

    What's for dinner, Doc?

    Exploring Human Connections, Health and Wellness

    Claire Fuller

    Writing and art

    Green Writing Room

    Hilary Custance Green's reading and writing notepad

    Oldentimes's Blog

    a little old, a little new, life in the slow land of country living

    Caely in the making

    - one day, they'll say "because of you, I didn't give up" -


    A great site

    Being MG

    Flash fiction, poetry and other written works that make me who I am.


    A.K.A. Ted White

    Musings of a Random Mind

    Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

    draliman on life

    Because sometimes life just makes you stop and think


    Looking at Infinity


    adventures in defensive gardening

    fabricating fiction

    Louise Jensen - Writer -

    Momus News

    Humorous News, Photos, and Short Fiction

    next page new chapter

    Life, Motherhood, Beauty, Books

