5 August 2016

Published August 3, 2016 by rochellewisoff

Summer Showcase

Summer is the time for vacations, picnics on the beach and reruns on the telly. For me it has been a time to meet a deadline in July for my third novel in my series entitled AS ONE MUST ONE CAN. These are happy times! The deadline has been met, but there are edits to do and more business ahead. So the Summer Showcase will continue for a few more Fridays. Many thanks to those of you who responded to my plea for your favorite reruns. 

Phriday Phictioneers Phone

Like us on Facebook

Our Mantra:

Another Highway

The following photo is the PROMPT. This week’s retread request is from CEAYR. If you’re one of those who wrote a story for this prompt feel free to re-post it and enjoy the respite. Remember that all photos are private property and subject to copyright. Use other than Friday Fictioneers by permission only. 

Copyright-Ted Strutz


get the InLinkz code

Genre: Realistic Fiction

Word Count: 100

Original post from May 2013


            I met Kevin online. Our connection began with shared interests and blossomed into more.

            “You should visit in person,” said my sister.  

            “Fat chance. He’s in Hawaii, I’m in Nebraska.”

            Last week I received an airline ticket.

            “Next Saturday. Icon Grill. Seattle.




            He slides into the booth across from me. “You bring it?”

            From my purse I take a faded photograph of twins, a boy and a girl. Korean War orphans. I’ve carried it for forty years.

            His almond-shaped eyes crinkle as he fishes an identical photo from his wallet.

            “Jah-meh, I always hoped to find you.”  

*Jah-meh – Korean for sister

91 comments on “5 August 2016

  • Dear Thumbelina,
    I’d wipe my eyes if my fingers weren’t stapled to the keyboard. You know I’m a sucker for happy endings and this one really hit the spot. There for a minute things were starting to get fuzzy.


    Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Gabriele,

      You do know your way around a wonderful comment. Thank you for your kind words re this story and the two fabulous reviews you left on Amazon for both of my books. My agent posted them to her website. Those reviews do more to sell a book than a professional critic’s review. I am in your debt.



      Liked by 1 person

    • Dear Amy,

      This is among my favorites. I love seeing those family reunions on TV where someone finds a long lost brother, sister…etc. It kind of restores one’s faith in human nature. Thank you for your kind comments.



      Liked by 1 person

  • I feel as if I’ve been away forever. I’ve done a hardcore push to study for my General Class Ham License, of which I just passed last eve after 26 months of studying hard, and 29 exam attempts! YIpee! I’ve also been spending a lot of time working on my art skills, taken a few classes, filled a few sketchers, improved tremendously! That said, it is really GOOD to be back! Hope everyone had, or is having an awesome summer!


    • Dear Jelli,

      It sounds like you’ve had a busy year. I’m always happy to connect with another artist. I’m happy you’ve been able to work on your art. I can’t imagine life without it.

      Thank you for your kind words.



      Liked by 1 person

  • Input! I love input!

        Honie Briggs



    Writing About Whatever Comes to Mind, Whenever it Comes to Mind...

    Flights of Fancy

    The Totally Unambitious Blog

    The Off Key Of Life

    Or….Identifying The Harmless Unhinged Among Us.

    What's So Funny?

    A WordPress.com humor blog

    The Write Melony

    Renowned Writer Extraordinaire - in my mind!

    unbuttoned or undone

    Hang on, Hang on

    A Delectable Life

    The little and large things making my life delicious!

    Hoxton Spanish Tutor Info

    This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

    Sound Bite Fiction

    where nothing is quite what it seems


    Vague Meanderings of the Broke and Obscure


    a libretto for the comic opera of my life


    Writing about writing

    What's for dinner, Doc?

    Exploring Human Connections, Health and Wellness

    Claire Fuller

    Writing and art

    Green Writing Room

    Hilary Custance Green's reading and writing notepad

    Oldentimes's Blog

    a little old, a little new, life in the slow land of country living

    Caely in the making

    - one day, they'll say "because of you, I didn't give up" -


    A great WordPress.com site

    Being MG

    Flash fiction, poetry and other written works that make me who I am.


    A.K.A. Ted White

    Musings of a Random Mind

    Fiction based on reality. Any similarities to the characters and events in the life of the author are purely intentional.

    draliman on life

    Because sometimes life just makes you stop and think


    Looking at Infinity


    adventures in defensive gardening

    fabricating fiction

    Louise Jensen - Writer - www.louisejensen.co.uk

    Momus News

    Humorous News, Photos, and Short Fiction

    next page new chapter

    Life, Motherhood, Beauty, Books

